• Dr. Herpy

Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams Win WRC

By Robert Phillips

The Boys Cross Country team won their 6th straight WRC championship on October 17th. Although they did not score perfectly they came close with a score of 21 points. The field was tough and consisted of 88 runners. The Kenston team managed to beat out Chardon by 49 points. The Kenston team looked extremely strong and there were many PRs. Dennis Princic won the individual title in 16:05.6, while senior Garrett McConnell was runner-up in 16:28.5, senior Nathan Bertman was fifth in 16:38.8, senior Jack Turk finished sixth in 16:44.1 and junior Braden Hunt took seventh in 16:46.8, while senior Owen Orlowski was eighth in 16:48.1 and senior Tyler McMahan finished ninth in 16:58.0. The team was confident and managed to get ahead of their competition. Their top seven were all in the top 10 and broke 17 minutes proving once again that the team is extremely deep. The team has proven that they are serious contenders for the state title. The girls also did extremely well and beat out Chardon to win their first WRC title since 1999! Chardon had won every WRC Championship since 2015. There were also lots of PRs on the girls team. Cece Pagila led the girls team with a runner-up finish in 18:51.8 – the second-fastest time in school history. She was followed by freshman Emerson Greene who took fourth with a time of 19:07.2, senior Ellie Pleune took fifth in 19:22.2, sophomore Paige Masson was sixth in 19:34.8 junior Jenny Kapcio finished seventh with a time of 19:54.3, junior Jocelyn Van Skyhock finished 17th at 20:31, and was closely followed by junior Katie Klotz, who finished 18th with a time of 20:32.8. Both the boys and the girls will continue their season at districts.  and won the first WRC championship in school history. The teams are hopeful that their season will continue despite the COVID-19 pandemic. The boys are currently undefeated and hope to continue their undefeated season with a win at districts on 10/24. Both teams are confident they will be able to run at states on October 31st.